top of page

José Lencastre Nau Quartet | Eudaimonia

Atualizado: 5 de mar. de 2019



 

Can listen here.

Edition | 2018

Label | FMR Records

No. Nothing is random. Nothing is by chance. Those who have been following what I write will realize that "one thing is one thing and another thing is something else". Nothing is comparable. That said, if you're one of those people who, like me, need a good record to listen on the train, I do not recommend this! But do not stop reading here. Attention! It is, undoubtedly, an excellent record! But you need to listen the album in a quite loud volume and have some silence around so you can really listen all the details. For me this is a “Winter” record. One of those to listen in the warm living room while you drink an Irish Coffee in a rainy day outside.

"Eu" fulfills, well, the phrase "less is more". Let each note sound, in such a way, that when it ends we are in suspense. And so it will be along the record. A crescendo of intensity and dynamics. It is the beginning of a long walk between bass, saxophone, piano and drums. For those who think this jazz is just a group of musicians that are not listening to each other, try. Try to listen with all your ears! The subtle notes of Rodrigo's piano are little refinements for our ears and João's drumming is a pleasant surprise at the most "explosive" moments.

In "I" José helps me and open the door to the winds world that I, so often, have difficulty digesting. José enters into an intense dialogue and I predispose myself to interpret it. And that is the essence of Eudaimonia.

I've been foolish and stubborn. I refused to learn how to listen, so that a few years ago in the Trem Azul shop I was talking with Ricardo (a Clean Feed collaborator) that "I do not like winds. They´re schizophrenia annoy me! ". Whoever heard me say such barbarity and showed available to talk and to “knock” in this tumultuous head was the trumpeter Sei Miguel. I listened, but only a few months later I began to want to hear more effectively. Listen without preconceived ideas. It is always what I predispose myself to do. But back to what matters. Meanwhile we are in "Mo" and we breathe. We breathe Rodrigo's piano, João's drums and Hernâni's bass in that cadence that you will only understand what I'm writing when you listen the track. That bass, I hear it. It’s always there. Present and striking. "Ni" is THE track! It's nine minutes of perfect understanding. Of course I'm suspicious because Hernani bass is, unquestionably, music to my ears. They close in "A" a great record, with well-known musicians that give, in this quartet, what they have the best: technique, sensibility and effort . Undoubtedly, this Eudaimonia has reached its fullness. It is the satisfaction that comes from our cognitive and emotional growth. The right name for this record!


Tracklist


1. Eu  2. Da 3. I  4. Mo 5. Ni  6. A 


Credits


José Lencastre - Alto Sax

Rodrigo Pinheiro - Piano

Hernâni Faustino - Bass

João Lencastre - Drums

You can check us on Youtube:

FMR Records

Recorded by João Pedreira at Timbuktu Studio, 07/04/2018

MIxed by DB, mastered by Ary at Toolate Studio

Artwork by Miguel Cravo

5 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page