top of page

Schneider/Almeida

Atualizado: 5 de mar. de 2019



 

Volume 03

Can listen here.

Released | 2018


This is not the first time that Gonçalo Almeida and Jörg A. Schneider have joined in these wanderings. The mixture between Schneider's drums and Almeida's bass, gave rise to the album ROJI – The Hundred Headed Women of the Shhpuma label in 2016, with the guests  Susana Santos Silva on trumpet and Colin Websteron baritone saxophone.

ROJI – The Hundred Headed Women draws in my mind a scene of a dark night. The sounds take me to rock environments and it is undoubtedly a record that fits my imaginary!

But this time the two musicians come together between drums and doublebass on a disc inside SCHNEIDER COLLABORATIONS. Schneider/Almeida is the volume 03 of a set of albums that I strongly advise you to listen.

Volume 01 | SCHNEIDER / SCHARCO

Throughout the eight tracks the dialogue between Schneider and Almeida is evident, rhythmic and full of small details that make us hear again and again the same mesh in search of another detail that at first hearing went unnoticed.

The guests are Julius Gabriel on Tenor saxophone and Colin Webster on Alto saxophone. And is with Julius Gabriel, with the track Blissfull, that the album begins.

It is precisely on one of the tracks with Julius Gabriel that my heart rate accelerates and the attention increases. Dreamy has everything I like musically. Dialogue, harmony, disharmony, confrontation and, above all, the presence of doublebass lines that catch my attention and disconnect me from everything around me.

In Mischievous happened what I did not expect. I fast forward to the next track. I can not follow four minutes and thirty four seconds without getting too agitated. There is something that does not appeal to me but I can not describe what made me feel like that. I can only write that you can not explain it, you can only feel it. It may be from Webster's saxophone (but the fault is entirely mine and from my low tolerance to high-pitched).

A well-achieved and coherent album with interesting sound environments, and that shows us, once again, that Schneider and Almeida make a duo recommendable to our ears.

Tracklist


Blissfull*Bug EyedDreamy*GlowingFurtiveMischievous**GloriousEcstatic**


Credits


Jörg A. Schneider / Drums

Goncalo Almeida / Doublebass

*feat. Julius Gabriel / Tenor Sax.

**feat. Colin Webster / Alto Sax.

-------------------------------------------------------

Recorded, mixed & mastered by Ralf J. Rock & Jörg A. Schneider / August-September 2017 Loundry Room Hückelhoven

-------------------------------------------------------

Design & Artworks by Soheyl Nassary


3 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page