top of page

Ikizukuri | Hexum



 

Can listen here.

Edition | 2018

Label | Zona Watusa

Go listen!

This review could be just: G-o l-i-s-t-e-n! N-o-w!

One of my records (in this case K7) of 2018. Straight to my TOP 10. Whoever follows what I write here in (Diz)sonâncias probably is, at the moment, thinking that I am groupieof Gonçalo Almeida. And you, Gonçalo, probably you are thinking that I have the full potential to be a stalker. I am not a groupie and Gonçalo if you see me in December in a Ikizukuri concert do not be afraid. I am, without a doubt, an appreciator of the projects where Gonçalo plays. So far his projects, fits like a glove, a leather one full of style and quality, in what is best done in this "gender".

I will purposely leave the genre in quotes because the discussion about this will always be subjective, intense and is not the path I intend to give to this review. Ikizukuri presents in Hexum, with a luxurious cast, a record: rich, intense, with a mix of metal and punk/rock, with moments of calm and repetition and, above all, with excellent music landscapes.

Side A holds eleven short themes (most with less than two minutes) but intensity is something they don't lack. Time is not everything. Yes, I'm suspicious. I really like this record. This review is the perfect crime. I'm writing about what I like. From start to finish. But the tastes are to discuss and if anyone wants to discuss this record with me I can only warn that it will not be worth it. I'll be a staunch defender and advise you to listen Chubbuck in repeat mode until you understand what I'm trying to say. The last eight seconds are a tremendous orgasm from Gustavo Costa's drums and Gonçalo Almeida's bass. It may be short but it is intense. And if you still not understanding what I’m trying to say I strongly recommend that you listen Pavão to the exhaustion. The roots of this project drank from the metal and this is completely perceptible. Julius Gabriel leaves me breathless in the first seconds of Uhde, and I’m curious to hear more of what he does. Yes, there is a strong chance of mosh at Sabotage next December. If Ikizukuri play live what they show in this K7 the headbangers will have an enormous neck pain! I haven’t heard a song like Baah for a long time, starting with the "1,2,3,4" and when we realize, we are back to the good old days when we went to the punk/rock concerts to shake the body like if there were no tomorrow. You do not need the electric guitar, you do not even miss it, because you have the full power of the saxophone. Hexum, in the side B of the K7, is an authentic soundtrack! But a good one! It's eighteen minutes and forty-six seconds of a story very well told. It's time to breathe, lower the levels and assimilate the free jazz, the punk rock and the metal you just heard. A record that should be part of the sound library of any of us. The Ikizukuri with their Hexum will devour your ears and leave you with a tremendous will to hear them live. Short, intense and that takes our breath away. What more can you ask for?


Portugal:

19.12 - Sabotage (Nariz Entupido), Lisbon, PT

20.12 - Oficinas Do Convento, Montemor-o-Novo, PT

21.12 - Smup Parede, PT

22.12 - Grémio Caldense, Caldas da Rainha, PT


Tracklist


1.Mottle

2.Uhde

3.Beinum

4.Yinon

5.Pavão

6.Barere

7.Baah

8.Chubbuck

9.Okwaraji

10.Keilberth

11.Hexum (lado B)



Credits

Julius Gabriel - tenor sax. and electronics

Gonçalo Almeida - bass

Gustavo Costa - drums

-------

Side A

Recorded, mix and master by Gustavo Costa at Sonoscopia, Porto

Side B

Recorded live by Gustavo Costa at Passos Manuel, Porto

Mix and master by Bernardo Fesch at Gizmeister Studios, Lisbon

Illustration by Chris Haslam

Graphic Design by Maarten Neering

Words by Andy Leenen

7 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page