top of page

Uivo Zebra | Uivo Zebra



 

Can listen here.

Edition | 2018

Label | Bocian


The first of this year to enter the blog and here is a confession: there are few things that I regret in life but have failed the Uivo Zebra concert in Lisbon is one of the things that will be at my regrets list!

I started to listen and the first thing I felt was "this power trio is completely under control". Of course, it was! It was just the begin with Sussurro murmurio. If the Acid Mothers Temple razed every time I've seen them live, I can imagine Uivo Zebra clinging a room the same way. The essence is completely there. What more could you expect from a guitar, a bass, and drums? For me, it's the perfect trio of instruments!

Sussurro murmurio is the entrance into a room full of sensations waiting to be awakened. It is the beginning of the dance between the Hernâni’s bass and Jorge Nuno’s guitar, where the João Sousa’s drums complete, and so well, the trio. From the cover - by Hernâni (who besides being an excellent bass and double bass player, takes amazing pictures) - to the sonority, the record has everything we need to feel complete. Cãibra tumulto only made my regret of having failed the concert grow up. "This trio live should be so good" - recurrent thought since I pressed play. The Jorge Nuno’s guitar fills the environment of this second track and comes out the rock ambiance. Four minutes of Cãibra tumulto and I am at the moment when everything is disconcerting and my ears are completely stimulated. The Hernâni’s bass marks the rhythm of my breathing in Abismo uivo until I am completely abstracted from everything that surrounds me. I assume there are records that I hear and I start writing the shopping list to go to the supermarket. This is definitely not one of them! Not that there is any problem in thinking about food while listening to a record but if the attention dispersed then it is because it did not grab me. This one makes us stop everything and listen carefully.

You will understand my point in Urro estridulo. Go straight to track four! It's twelve minutes and nineteen seconds of good, very good music. This trio has everything you want to hear: good musicians, interesting dialogue and moments that sharpen sensations. A note to myself: do not miss the next live concert! Closing the record with Abalo sismico is a perfect end with the right intensity.

A highly recommended Bocian record!


Credits


Jorge Nuno: electric guitar

Hernâni Faustino: electric bass

João Sousa: drums

recorded and mixed by Eduardo Vinhas at Golden Pony Studios in Lisbon, March 2017

Mastered by James Plotkin

Cover photo by Hernâni Faustino

Band photos by Nuno Martins

Designed by Joanna John

3 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page